Bypolls for four seats announced

Bypolls for four seats announced

Agency News

New Delhi, Aug 25 : The Election Commission on Sunday announced by-elections to one Assembly seat each in Chhattisgarh, Kerala, Tripura, and Uttar Pradesh, on September 23.

The bypolls for Dantewada in Chhattisgarh, Pala in Kerala, Badharghat of Tripura and Hamirpur in Uttar Pradesh Assembly seats will be held on September 23, the Commission said in a notification here.
After disqualification of BJP lawmaker Ashok Chandel, the bypoll in Hamirpur was necessitated.

In Uttar Pradesh, by-elections to 12 other Assembly seats were also due, since most of the sitting MLAs won the Lok Sabha elections this year.

Dates for 11 Assembly seats of UP, were yet to be announced.
The Dantewada, Pala and Badharghat bypolls were necessitated, following the death of the respective sitting MLAs.

While the notification for the by-elections would be issued on August 28, counting would be held on September 27, the Commission added.