Manmohan Singh elected to Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan

Manmohan Singh elected to Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan

Agency News

Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh was elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan on Monday.

He was declared elected unopposed as the deadline for the withdrawal of nominations for the bypoll ended at 3pm on Monday.

Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot congratulated Singh on his election to the Upper House of Parliament. "Congratulate former PM Dr #ManmohanSingh ji on being elected unopposed as a member of #RajyaSabha from #Rajasthan. Dr Singh's election is a matter of pride for the entire state. His vast knowledge and rich experience would benefit the people of Rajasthan a lot," he tweeted.

Singh was nominated by the Congress while the BJP did not field any candidate for the bypoll, necessitated due to the death of Rajya Sabha BJP MP Madan Lal Saini.

Returning Officer and Assembly Secretary Pramil Kumar Mathur made the announcement. The government's chief whip, Mahesh Joshi, received the election certificate on behalf of Singh.

He was a Rajya Sabha member for five consecutive terms from 1991 to 2019 and the country's prime minister for two consecutive terms between 2004 and 2014.