Historic step: B-Town hails Centre’s move to scrap Article 370

Historic step: B-Town hails Centre’s move to scrap Article 370

Agency News

New Delhi, Aug 5 : Bollywood fraternity, including Kangana Ranaut, Dia Mirza, Vikrant Massey, on Monday lauded the Centre for moving a resolution seeking abrogation of Article 370 (3), and hailed it as a historic step.

In a statement, Kangana said, "Scrapping of Article 370 was long due, it is a historic step in the direction of terrorism-free nation, I have been emphasising on this for the longest time, and I knew if any one could achieve this impossible feat that is Mr Modi. He is not only a visionary, he has the required courage and strength of character to make unthinkable a reality ... I congratulate entire Bharat including Jammu and Kashmir on this historic day, we are together looking at a very bright future."

Taking to micro-blogging site Twitter, Vikrant Massey said,'Never did I think I’d say this. But, THANK YOU! @BJP4India@AmitShah & @narendramodi It had to go! #Article370 Those warning of “dangerous consequences” SHAME ON YOU! #OneNationOneLaw'.
Dia Mirza tweeted,'Peace, prosperity and sustainable development for the people of #Ladakh and #JammuAndKashmir Good Luck @PMOIndia@HMOIndia #Article370revoked #Artical35A'.

Producer Ekta Kapoor said,'It's a radical decision but need of the hour!! Only hope Kashmir stays safe !#historicalday'.

Director, producer Kunal Kohli said,'The argument that the scrapping of #Article370 #Article35A is unconstitutional doesn’t hold.If at a time it was fair to apply it,It’s fair to remove it when it isn’t working. It was never meant to be permanent. Can’t get diff results doing the same thing.'

Union Home Minister Amit Shah moved a resolution seeking abrogation of Article 370 (3). He also moved a bill to provide status of Union Territory to Ladakh and a separate Union Territory for Jammu and Kashmir.

Mr Shah moved Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Bill, 2019. The Home Minister said Ladakh will get status of Union Territory without Legislature. (UNI)