Journalist Ravish Kumar wins 2019 Ramon Magsaysay Award

Journalist Ravish Kumar wins 2019 Ramon Magsaysay Award

Agency News

Journalist Ravish Kumar has been awarded the 2019 Ramon Magsaysay Award, which is also called as Asia’s Nobel Prize. Kumar is among the five recipients of this award, which is regarded as the Asian version of the Nobel Prize.

Forty-four-year-old Kumar, NDTV India’s senior executive editor, is among the country’s one of the influential TV journalists, the award citation said. “If you have become the voice of the people, you are a journalist,” the citation says.

Ravish Kumar, who has been with NDTV since 1996, has often faced threats for his fearless plain-speak. Raised in Jitwarpur in Bihar, Ravish Kumar pursued his early interest in history and public affairs at the Delhi University. Other notable winners of the Magsaysay award in the past are RK Laxman, P Sainath, Arun Shourie, Kiran Bedi and Arvind Kejriwal.

The Ramon Magsaysay Award is an annual award established to perpetuate former Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay's example of integrity in governance, courageous service to the people, and pragmatic idealism within a democratic society. The prize was established in April 1957 by the trustees of the Rockefeller Brothers Fund based in New York City with the concurrence of the Philippine government. The award is internationally-recognized as Asia's Nobel Prize counterpart and is the highest award given to Asian individuals and organizations.