Voting on Triple Talaq goes on in Rajya Sabha

Voting on Triple Talaq goes on in Rajya Sabha

Agency News

New Delhi, 30 July, 2019: The voting on Muslim Women (Protection of Rights of Marriage) Bill, 2019 – commonly known as triple talaq Bill- is currently going on in Rajya Sabah today.

In a boost to the BJP, its ally JD(U) staged a walkout from Rajya Sabha . With the walkout of the 7 JD(U) MPs, the strength of the House has come down further, thus ensuring a smooth sail for the Bill. The Bill has already been passed by a voice vote in Lok Sabha.In the 241-member House, the majority mark rests at 121. The NDA has 113 MPs and after the JDU walkout, the magic number required for the majority to pass the bill is set to slide.

Earlier, AIADMK opposes triple talaq Bill, staged a walkout in Rajya Sabha. BSP also walked out opposing the Triple Talaq bill which is going to criminalise Muslim men who commit the offence of Triple talaq.

Opposing the contentious triple talaq bill, parties like Congress, TMC, SP, AIADMK and DMK on Tuesday demanded in Rajya Sabha that the proposed legislation be sent to select committee for further scrutiny. Most of the opposition members objected to the provision of criminalising instant triple talaq.