Triple Talaq bill passed in Rajya Sabha

Triple Talaq bill passed in Rajya Sabha

Agency News

Creating another history, the Triple Talaq bill has been passed in the Rajya Sabha on Tuesday. is currently going on in Rajya Sabah today.

After hours of debate, Muslim Women (Protection of Rights of Marriage) Bill, 2019 – commonly known as triple talaq Bill was taken to the vote by Rajya Sabha Chairman Venkaiah Naidu. The bill was passed with a margin of approximately 15 votes. While 84 MPs votes against the Bill, 99 MPs supported it.

84 MPs did not participate in voting, including that from major opposition parites such as Congress, DMK, TMC etc. As BJP-led NDA has 113 members in Rajya helped the Bill to be passed in Rajya Sabha.

With the passing of the Triple Talaq bill, the practice of Triple Talaq (instant divorce) will become a criminal offence with three years jail for violations. Earlier, the Rajya Sabha took up the bill for the debate on Tuesday.

Though NDA is still short on numbers in Rajya Sabha, the depleted strength of the opposition helped the NDA to pass the bill. The Bharatiya Janata Party-led government hopes to get the contentious law through by persuading some friendly parties to either back the bill or abstain from voting.

As part of this strategy, BJP’s ally JD(U) staged a walkout from Rajya Sabha where the is being discussed. With the walkout of the 7 JD(U) MPs, the strength of the House has come down further, thus ensuring a smooth sail for the Bill. Another BJP ally, AIADMK also staged a walkout, which further brought down the majority mark in the Rajya Sabha.

The Bill has already been passed by a voice vote in Lok Sabha.In the 241-member House, the majority mark rests at 121. The NDA has 113 MPs and after the JDU walkout, the magic number required for the majority to pass the bill is set to slide.

The triple talaq bill, passed thrice by the Lok Sabha over the last 19 months, stood its brightest chance to become a law on Tuesday on the back of absentations by some of the bill’s critics.

The ban is already in force through an ordinance but has been a top priority for the NDA government. It was the first bill introduced in Parliament after the NDA government was re-elected to power and was passed by the Lok Sabha last week.

Earlier opposing the contentious triple talaq bill, parties like Congress, TMC, SP, AIADMK and DMK on Tuesday demanded in Rajya Sabha that the proposed legislation be sent to select committee for further scrutiny. Most of the opposition members objected to the provision of criminalising instant triple talaq.

Bashishtha Narain Singh of the Janata Dal United set the tone early in the debate, telling the Rajya Sabha that his party was against the law and would stay away from the discussion. His party has six members.

The AIADMK, which faced a backlash after its lawmaker supported the triple talaq law in the Lok Sabha, extensively spoke against the bill. A Navaneethakrishnan, the AIADMK’s Rajya Sabha floor leader, demanded that the bill be sent to a select committee in the House. That would bring down the strength of the House, and the majority mark.

Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal, on the other hand, has supported the legislation.