Oppn  demands to send RTI (Amendment) Bill to select committee

Oppn demands to send RTI (Amendment) Bill to select committee

Agency News

New Delhi, July 25: The Opposition parties on Thursday created ruckus in the Rajya Sabha , demanding that the Right To Information Act (Amendment) Bill 2019 be referred to a select committee.

The upraor by the opposition led to several adjournments of the House, the last one till 4.25pm. As soon as the House resumed after lunch, Rajya Sabha Dy Chairman Harivansh Narayan Singh asked Minister of State for Prime Minister's Office Jitendra Singh to move the RTI (Amendment) Bill for cosndieration of the house.

However, as soon as the Minister moved the Bill, Opposition Parties stormed into well of the House demanding select committee. Deputy Chairperson Harivansh said that as per convention both Bill and motion are moved together. P. Chidambaram of the Congress said if the Bill is sent to Select Committee, there is no need to move the Bill.  ''So it has to be taken separately,'' he said.

Meanwhile, members of opposition shouted slogans to demand that the Bill be sent to a Select committee. Shouting slogans that "We want select committee...Will not tolerate dictatorship in democracy...", the opposition members caused noisy scenes in the House. Amid the uproar, Mr Jitenra Singh assured that the Bill was not intended to curtail independence of the information commisison.

"There is no attempt, motivation or design to curtail the independence autonomy of Right to Information": Mr Singh said. Congress leader Anand Sharma said the Upper House is not obliged to endorse any Bill which is not referred to standing committee. "Lawmaking cannot be done in a hurry which concerns mass people," he said.

AITC MP Derek O'Brien said,'' it is a very serious matter, we are not playing T 20 match. Derek O'Brien said he is moving the motion to send the House to Select Committee to protect democracy. Amid uproar, the Dy Chairman adjourned the Upper House four times , first at 2.32 pm for 15 minutes , at 2.46pm for 10 min. at 3.54pm till 4.09pm and at 4.10 pm till 4.25pm. When the Hosue met after the second adjournment, the chair asked Navaneethakrishnan of the AIADMK to speak on the Bill amid the uproar He could , however, not be heard amid noisy scenes. Tehrafter, the chair asked Prasanna Acharya of teh BJP to speak but he said he could not speak as house was not in order.

The chair then asked Anil Desai of the Shiv Sena and Vijay Sai Reddy of the YSR COngres sparty to speak but even they could not be heard. Sasmit Patra of the BJP also spoke amid uproar. With the uproar continuing, the Chair adjoujrned th Hosue for 15 minutes at 2.45pm and then at 4.10pm for another 15 minutes. (UNI)