Mayawati to go it alone in UP poll

Mayawati to go it alone in UP poll


The Bahujan Samaj Party chief, Ms.  Mayawati, has announced her party would contest all future elections alone, a message firmly puts an end to the alliance with the Samajwadi Party after weeks of uncertainty.

The announcement comes a day after the BSP supremo held a meeting with party workers to review her outfit's showing in the  Lok Sabha polls. 'Everyone is aware that forgetting everything of the past as also the anti-BSP and anti-Dalit decisions, like reservation in promotions and bad law and order during the SP rule in 2012-2017, the BSP adhered to the 'gatbandhan dharma' with the Samajwadi Party in the interests of the country,' she said.

'But the SP's behaviour after the elections has forced the BSP to think, will it be possible to defeat the BJP in future, which is not possible,' she said. 'Therefore, in the interest of the party and movement, the party will contest all small and big elections on its own strength,' Ms.  Mayawati said.

The BSP entered into an electoral alliance with the Akhilesh Yadav-led Samajwadi Party (SP) and the Chaudhary Ajit Singh-led Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) in UP for the Lok Sabha polls. The alliance, however, failed to make any impact.  In a speech three weeks after she announced that her party would fight by-elections to UP alone, significant development given that the BSP does not usually contest by elections, Ms. Mayawati launched a tirade against Mr. Yadav calling him 'anti-Muslim'.

She said that Mr.  Yadav had asked her to not give tickets to Muslims as it would result in religious polarisation. 'But I did not listen to him. When Akhilesh Yadav was the chief minister, injustice was done to non-Yadav and Dalits and that is why they did not give votes to the SP. The SP had protested against the promotion of the Dalits also,' she said at a closed door party meeting.

Ms. Mayawati's statements, incidentally, were not a part of the official press release issued at the end of the meeting. Incidentally, three of the five MPs elected on a SP ticket are Muslims, Mr.  Azam Khan, Mr. Shafiqur-rehman Barq and Mr. ST Hasan.