Pinaki Misra is BJD leader in LS

Pinaki Misra is BJD leader in LS

Agency News

New Delhi, June 17: The change of the leadership in Lok Sabha for the Biju Janata Dal with lawmaker from Puri Pinaki Misra replacing veteran parliamentarian Bhartruhari Mahtab is "nothing unusual" and only reflected the party's old principle and pattern.

"We have been changing our leader in the Lok Sabha in all the terms since 1999 and we are sticking to the same norm this year also. Replacing Mahtab was no sign of demotion or anything. This is how BJD has been functioning," a party source said.

In 1998 and 1999 BJD's leader in Lok Sabha was Naveen Patnaik. But in 2000 itself, the party had a new leader Prasanna Acharya and again in 2004 there was a new face Braja Kishore Tripathy.

Similarly, party sources said in 2009, Arjun Charan Sethi was elected new leader for the party in the Lower House of Parliament and in the 16th Lok Sabha between 2014 and 2019, the leadership had passed on to Mahtab. In the new Lok Sabha, Misra will be the new BJP floor leader in the Lok Sabha. (UNI)