Bypolls to six RS seats on July 5

Bypolls to six RS seats on July 5

Agency News

New Delhi, June 16: The Election Commission on Saturday announced by-elections to six vacant Rajya Sabha seats in Bihar, Gujarat and Odisha on July 5.

Bypolls will be held for two Rajya Sabha seats in Gujarat, one seat in Bihar and three seats in Odisha.

The bypolls have been necessitated by election of Amit Shah, Smriti Irani and Ravi Shankar Prasad to the Lok Sabha and election of one Rajya Sabha member to the Odisha legislative assembly.

While the term of Amit Shah and Smriti Irani was till August 18, 2023, the term of Ravi Shankar Prasad was to end on April 2, 2024.

The term of Achyutananda Samanta was to end on April 3, 2024, and that of Pratap Keshari Deb was to end on July 2022 and Soumya Ranjan Patnaik was to end on April 3, 2024.

The notification of these elections will be issued on June 18.