8 Ministers, 5 MoS inducted in Maha Cabinet

8 Ministers, 5 MoS inducted in Maha Cabinet

Agency News

Mumbai, June 16: Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis on Sunday expanded his Council of Ministers, inducting eight Cabinet Ministers and five Ministers of State (MoS). Governor Vidyasagar Rao administered the oath of office and secrecy to the ministers at the Raj Bhavan here.

Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil, who recently joined BJP leaving Congress, and Jaydatt Kshirsagar, who left NCP a few months ago to join Shiv Sena, were inducted as Cabinet Ministers.

On June 4, Vikhe Patil tendered his resignation as the member of the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly amidst the buzz that he may defect to the ruling BJP-Shiv Sena alliance.

Before resigning, he was the Leader of Opposition in the Vidhan Sabha.

BJP leaders Ashish Shelar, Sanjay Kute, Dr Suresh Khade, Dr Anil Bonde, Ashok Uike and Dr Tanaji Savant were inducted as Cabinet Ministers.

Yogesh Sagar, Avinash Mahatekar, Sanjay alias Bala Bhegade, Dr Parinay Phuke and Atul Save were inducted as MoS.

Union Minister of State Ramdas Athawale, State Legislative Assembly Speaker Haribhau Bagade, former Chief Minister Manohar Joshi, Mayor Vishwanath Mahadeshwar, State Chief Secretary Ajoy Mehta, among others were present at the swearing-in ceremony.