Selection of astronauts for mission Gaganyaan within six months

Selection of astronauts for mission Gaganyaan within six months

Agency News

New Delhi, Jun 13: Minister for States for Space Science Dr Jitendra Singh on Thursday said that the selection of the astronauts for the India's first manned mission Gaganyaan will be completed within six months from now.

Addressing a press conference here, Dr Singh said that ISRO has decided to send manned mission by 2022 to mark the 75th anniversary of India’s Independence. The Government has constituted National Advisory Council for Gaganyaan.

ISRO Chief Dr K Sivan said that the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) has been signed with India Air Force (IAF) to shortlist three astronauts for this mission who will be trained for space mission in India initially and for advance stage training they will be sent abroad later as India does not have facilities for advance level of training as of now.

He also elaborated that many scientific laboratories of the country like Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) National Scientific laboratories and some private sector research organizations are also contributing to this mission.

Dr Sivan also said that the proposed Gaganyaan mission could be before 2022 with three astronauts who will likely stay in the space for seven days.

The Gaganyaan Advisory Council consists of ISRO Distinguished Advisor Dr K Kasturirangan, Principal Scientific Advisor to Government of India Prof K VijayRaghavan, ISRO Distinguished Professor Dr B N Suresh, Department of Science and Technology Secretary Prof Ashutosh Sharma, Defence R&D Secretary Dr G Satheesh Reddy, DRDO Chairman Dr Shekhar C Mande, Secretary DSIR, Director General, Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), Indian Institute of Science Director Prof Anurag Kumar,Industan Aeronautics Ltd CMD R Madhavan, Wing Commander Rakesh Sharma (retd) former Indian astronaut. (UNI)