NITI Aayog reconstituted

NITI Aayog reconstituted

Agency News

New Delhi, June 7: Prime Minister Narendra Modi has approved reconstitution of the National Institution for Transforming India (NITI) Aayog.

While Rajiv Kumar continues to remain the vice chairman of the NITI Aayog, VK Saraswat, Ramesh Chand and Dr VK Paul will be its full time members. Economist Bibek Debroy was dropped.

Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Home Minister Amit Shah, Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman and Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare Narendra Singh Tomar will be its Ex-officio Members.

Minister of Road Transport and Highways Nitin Gadkari, Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment Thaawar Chand Gehlot, Railway Minister Piyush Goyal and Minister of State for Statistics and Programme Implementation and Minister of State for Planning Rao Inderjit Singh have been made special invitees.

The reconstitution of the NITI Aayog comes ahead of the June 15 meeting of NITI Aayog's Governing Council, to be chaired by the Prime Minister. The meeting is expected to discuss various issues concerning water management, agriculture and security.

The council, the top body of NITI Aayog, includes all chief ministers, lieutenant governors of union territories, several union ministers and senior government officials. This will be the first governing council meeting under the new Modi government. (UNI)