Most Cabinet ministers retain earlier ministries

Most Cabinet ministers retain earlier ministries

Agency News

New Delhi, May 31: In the allocation of portfolios to members of the Council of Ministers announced on Friday, most of the Cabinet ministers retained their earlier portfolios with Nitin Gadkari getting Road Transport and Highways while Ravi Shankar Prasad, Law and justice, Communications and Electronics and Information and Technology.

Smriti Irani, who defeated Congress president Rahul Gandhi in Amethi, retains Textiles along with Women and Child Development Ministry, earlier looked after by Maneka Gandhi.

Dharmendra Pradhan will be looking after Petroleum and Natural Gas Ministry again along with Steel Ministry, earlier looked after by Chaudhary Birender Singh.

LJP's Ram Vilas Paswan and Akali Dal's Harsimrat Kaur Badal have retained their respective portfolios of Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution and Food Processing Industries respectively.

Gadkari has been allocated Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises ministry, earlier held by Giriraj Singh. Chemicals and Fertilizers Ministry was retained by D V Sadananda Gowda while Union Minister for Social Justice & Empowerment Thaawarchand Gehlot takes charge of his earlier ministry.

Santosh Kumar Gangwar will retain Labour and Employment portfolio while Sripad Yesso Naik repeats Ayush Ministry along with additional MoS Defence. Dr Harsh Vardhan will retain Science and technology and Earth Sciences in addition to Ministry of Health and Family Welfare.

Dr Jitendra Singh repeats as the Minister of Development of North Eastern region (Ind Charge), MoS in Prime Minister's Office and Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Atomic Energy and Space. R K Singh retains Power ministry and New and Renewable Energy Ministry while Hardeep Singh Puri continues with Housing and Urban Affairs along with Civil Aviation Ministry, and as MoS Commerce and Industry.
Mansukh L Mandaviya is elevated to Minister of State (Independent) of Shipping from earlier MoS of the same ministry. Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi retains Union Minister of Minority Affairs, a Rashtrapati Bhavan communique said here on Friday.