DMK in third place in LS

DMK in third place in LS


The DMK which has won 23 Lok Sabha seats from Tamil Nadu and with allies got 37 out of the 38 seats has got third position in the Lok Sabha, after Congress.

It has overtaken Y S R Congress and Trinamool Congress which have won 22 seats each. The Samaja Party and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) have been trounced in UP and won only 21 out of total 80 seats.

Among BJP’s major allies, Shiv Sena has won 18 from Maharashtra, the Janata Dal (U) won 22 out of 39. If the DMK-led bloc is taken, with 37 seats, the party has to fight the Centre on issues of vital concern for Tamil Nadu like abolition of NEET examination and the dropping of the hydrocarbon project and declaration of the Cauvery delta region as a protected agricultural zone, Sterlite plant and inter-river issues like Cauvery and Mullaperiyar.

The BJP has promised Godavari-Cauvery link as a mega project to solve the contentious inter-river dispute.