Election Commission 
Election Commission 

EC to hold by-elections to Chincholi Assembly seat on May 19

Agency News

Bengaluru, Apr 17: The Election Commission has decided to hold by-election to Chincholi Assembly seat in Karnataka, which fell vacant following the resignation by sitting member from Congress Umesh Jadhav, recently, and polling will be held on May 19.

According to official sources, the notification for holding by-election will be issued on April 22 and the last date for submitting nominations ends on April 29. Umesh Jadhav, who got elected in the 2018 Assembly elections but quit Congress party and is contesting as the BJP candidate from the Kalaburagi Lok Sabha seat to fight against Congress stalwart Mallikarjuna Kharge, Leader of the Parliamentary party, who is seeking a third term.

Meanwhile, the by-election to Kundagol Assembly seat is also being held on May 19. This seat fell vacant following the sudden death of sitting member and Karnataka minister C S Shivalli. The results will be announced on May 23.

In the 225-member Karnataka assembly, the BJP has 104 MLAs, followed by the Congress 78, JD(S) 37, BSP 1, Independents 2, Nominated 1 and vacant 2. UNI