BJP topped in percentage of valid votes polled with 282 winners in 16th Lok Sabha

BJP topped in percentage of valid votes polled with 282 winners in 16th Lok Sabha

Agency News

New Delhi, Apr 7 : Of the total valid votes polled in the last Lok Sabha elections, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) topped the charts by securing 31.34 per cent votes.
All six national parties-- Bharatiya Janata Party, Congress, Communist Party of India (CPI), CPI (Marxist), Bahujan Samaj Party and Nationalist Congress Party--secured 60.70 per cent.
In terms of percentage of votes over total electors also, the BJP was ahead with 20.58 per cent of votes secured.
Congress came second with 12.82 per cent of votes secure over total electors and 19.52 per cent of votes over total valid votes polled. Communist Party of India (CPI) was at the bottom with 0.52 per cent of votes total electors and 0.79 per cent of total valid votes polled, official data about performance of national parties in 2014 shows.
As many as 1,591 candidates contested from the six national parties -- BJP, Bahujan Samaj Party, CPI, CPI(M), Congress and Nationalist Congress Party -- in 2014 Lok Sabha polls of which 342 won and 807 lost their deposits. The total number of electors, including service electors, was 83.40 crore of which 54.78 crore valid votes were polled across the country, the figures show.
Among all six national parties, BJP was on the top with 282 winners, distantly followed by Congress which slumped to 44 winners. While CPI(M) could send nine candidates to the 16th Lok Sabha, CPI had just one member in the House and the NCP posted victories by six candidates. The BSP scored a big zero as none of its 503 candidates could win a single seat and 447 of its candidates had their deposits forfeited in the last general elections.
There were 28 winners with winning margin of less than 10,000 votes in 2014 elections. From Ladakh Thupstan Chhewang of the BJP had the thinnest winning margin of just 36 votes, according to data made available by the Election Commission of India (ECI).