Congress to field former minister Vinay Kulkarni for Dharwad LS seat

Congress to field former minister Vinay Kulkarni for Dharwad LS seat

Agency News

Bengaluru, Apr 3: All India Congress Committee (AICC) on Wednesday announced former Minister Vijaya Kulkarni as the party nominee for the Dharwad Lok Sabha seat in Karnataka. According to Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) sources, the party high command had cleared the name of Mr Kulkarni for the Dharwad seat, for which a stiff competition was there to get the ticket in the party.

Youth Congress leaders, Shakir Sanadi and Sadananda Dangannavar were also trying hard to get the party ticket, which caused the delay for the announcement of the nominee, the sources added. Vinaya Kulkarni will take on three-time sitting BJP MP, Prahlad Joshi from the Dharwad Lok Sabha seat. In 2014 Lok Sabha election, Mr Kulkarni lost against Mr Joshi by a margin of over 1.10 lakh votes.

Meanwhile, the Congress High Command had also cleared its candidate for the Davanagere Lok Sabha seat, where it nominated Manjappa as its nominee, in place of former minister Shamanur Shivashankarappa, who was reluctant to fight the elections. With the clearance of names for Dharwad and Davanagere Lok Sabha seats,, the AICC had announced the names of its candidates for all the 21 seats in Karnataka. The Congress had conceded the remaining seven seats to its alliance partner JD(S).

The elections in Karnataka will take place in two phases on April 8 and 23 respectively. In the 2014 elections, while the BJP had bagged as many as 17 seats the Congress won 9 and the JD(S) got two. (UNI)