BJD brings two new faces in remaining two LS seats,drops five sitting MLAs from seven Assembly seats

BJD brings two new faces in remaining two LS seats,drops five sitting MLAs from seven Assembly seats

Agency News

Bhubaneswar, Apr 02 : BJD supremo and Chief minister Naveen Patnaik today ended all speculations when he announced the name of two new faces as candidates for the remaining two Lok Sabha seats. Mr.Patnaik announced sitting party MLA from Pallahada constituency Mahesh Sahu as the party candidate for Dhenkanal seat replacing sitting MP Tathagat Satpathy who had decided to stay away from active politics.

The party also dropped Keonjhar Sitting MP Sakuntala laguri and in her place fielded Chandrani Murmu, a mechanical engineering graduate and a new face in the electoral battle. Out of the 21 Lok Sabha seats the BJD has retained four sitting MPs-- Mr.Kalikesh Narayan Singdeo( Bolangir), Mr Rabindra kumar Jena( Balasore),Mr.Pinaki Mishra( Puri) and Mr.Bhartruhari Mahatab ( Cuttack) and fielded 17 new faces for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

The Aska Lok Sabha seat was lying vacant following the demise of Aska Sitting BJD MP Ladu Kishore Swain. The Kendrapara Lok Sabha seat was also lying vacant following the resignation Bijyanata Panda who had joined the BJP. Along with the two Lok Sabha seats, the BJD supremo also released the list of seven assembly candidates in which five sitting MLAs were dropped. Rajya Sabha MP Soumya Ranjan Patnaik has been nominated to contest Assembly election from Khandapada replacing the sitting MLA Anubhav Pattnaik.

Mr. Pattnaik is the fifth Rajya sabha member in the party to enter into the fray this time. The others are Mr Pratap Deo (Aul Assembly seat), Mr Achyuta Samanta(Kandhamal Lok Sabha ), Mr Prasanna Acharya(Baragarh Lok Sabha) and Anubhav Mohanty (Kendrapara Lok Sabha). The sitting MLAs dropped today were – Mr Bijay Mohanty (Bhubanswar Central), Mr Priyadarshi Mishra (Bhubaneswar North), Mr Anubhav Patnaik (Khandapara), Mr Sanjeev Sahu (Athamallik) and Mr Akash Das Nayak (Korei). Former Bhubaneswar Municipal Corportion Mayor A N Jena will contest from Bhubaneswar Central in place of Mr Bijay Kumar Mohanty.

Mukesh Pal will contest from Palahara in place of Mahesh Sahu who has been nominated to contest Dhenkanal Lok Sabha seat. Similarly Mr Sushant Rout will now contest from Bhubaneswar North in place of Priyadarshi Mishra, Mr Ashok Bal replaced Mr Akash Das Nayak in Korei while Mr Ramesh Sai was brought replacing Mr Sanjeev Sahu, also a former minister in Athmallik. Former Minister Pranab Prakash Das, considered close to the power centre, retained his Jajpur Assembly seat. The BJD is yet to decide candidates in Baripada, Champua and Kendrapara Assembly seats.  (UNI)