BSP leader Chandraprakash Mishra joins BJP

BSP leader Chandraprakash Mishra joins BJP

Agency News

New Delhi, Mar 20: BSP leader Chandraprakash Mishra joined the Bharatiya Janata Party on Wednesday here in presence of Union Ministers JP Nadda and Smriti Irani.

'Seeing all-round development of Amethi in five years under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Mr Sharma has decided to join BJP, ' Ms Irani said while welcoming Mr Sharma at the party headquarters here.

In 2004 general elections, Mr Mishra won 16.85 per cent votes from Amethi constituency and stood second to Congress president Rahul Gandhi.

The BJP Central Election Committee held a series of meeting with state core groups and among themselves late Tuesday night and deliberated in details on the names of the party nominees.

The first list of candidates which is likely to carry most of the party's nominees for the first two phases.

There could be major surprises in the BJP list for Uttar Pradesh - where the saffron party along with its ally Apna Dal had won 73 seats in 2014.