2019 LS polls: Sonia to contest for 5th time from Rae Bareli

2019 LS polls: Sonia to contest for 5th time from Rae Bareli

Agency News

New Delhi, Mar 10 : Former Congress President and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi will try her luck for the fifth time from the Rae Bareli Parliamentary constituency of Uttar Pradesh.

Earlier, there were speculations that considering her health , she might not be contesting elections this time , however, her name has come up in the first list of Lok Sabha candidates released by the grand old party, which has put a full-stop to all ifs and buts.

Ms Gandhi has been winning the seat since 2004, and despite strong Modi wave in the nation, the people of Rae Bareli voted for her and made her emerge victorious with large margin of votes.

Mrs Gandhi contested for the first time in 2004 from Rae Bareli and had won with a margin of about 2.5 lakh votes.

At that time, she played a special role in formulating a United Progressive Alliance.

Following controversy over the office of profit, Ms Gandhi had resigned from the Lok Sabha membership in 2006 and was chosen back by the people of Rae Bareli in the by-election.

If we talk about the electoral history of this seat, the Congress upto 1971 had continuously won the seat,but had to face defeat for the first time in the Lok Sabha elections in 1977 as Rajnarayan of the Lokdal defeated former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi on this seat after Emergency. UNI