Delhi Congress authorises Rahul to decide on LS candidates for Delhi

Delhi Congress authorises Rahul to decide on LS candidates for Delhi

Agency News

New Delhi, Feb 21: Delhi Congress, led by its President Sheila Dikshit on Thursday unanimously passed a resolution authorising Congress President Rahul Gandhi to decide on candidates for seven Lok Sabha seats in Delhi for the 2019 polls .

A meeting of Pradesh Election Committee chaired by Ms Dikshit was held regarding the selection of candidates to be fielded by the Congress in the upcoming Lok Sabha polls, and a resolution was passed entrusting the decision to the COngress President Rahul Gandhi.

The meeting was held at the DPCC office, where all the members of the PEC, AICC general secretary in-charge of Delhi Shri P.C.Chacko and AICC secretary Kuljit Singh Nagra were also present.

Ms Dikshit moved the resolution which was seconded by former DPCC president and Delhi Speaker Subhash Chopra, and unanimously passed by all the members of the PEC by raising their hands.

Other important leaders of Delhi Congress present at the meeting included the three working presidents, Haroon Yusuf, Devender Yadav and Rajesh Lilothia.

Former DPCC presidents Ajay Maken, Subhash Chopra, Jaiprakash Agarwal and Arvinder Singh Lovely,former MP Janardhan Dwivedi, former Delhi Ministers Shri Mangat Ram Singhal, Shri Ramakant Goswami, former Delhi Minister Dr Yoganand Shastri and Delhi Pradesh Mahila Congress president Sharmistha Mukherjee were also present in the meeting. (UNI)