Rajnath singh
Rajnath singh

BJP forms 15 sub-committees for public outreach to get feedback on party manifesto

Agency News

New Delhi, Jan 13 : To address major challenges raised by the Opposition parties, BJP on Sunday decided to form 15 sub-committees and collect public opinion, to form its 'sankalp patra' (manifesto) for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

The decision was taken at the manifesto committee, constituted by BJP president Amit Shah and headed by Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, at the party's headquarters in the national capital.

Responding to mediapersons after the meeting, Mr Singh said the party has decided to form 15 sub-committees and added that "these will include stakeholders from various fields to establish direct communication with the public".

The meeting was attended by Mr Shah and other members, including Union Ministers Arun Jaitley, Nirmala Sitharaman, Thawar Chand Gahlot, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Piyush Goyal, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, KJ Alphons and Kiran Rijiju.

Former Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Deputy Chief Ministers of Bihar and UP- Sushil Kumar Modi and Keshav Prasad Maurya, respectively, apart from party leaders Arjun Munda, Ram Madhav, Bhupendra Yadav, Narayan Rane, Meenakshi Lekhi, Sanjay Paswan, Hari Babu and Rajendra Mohan Singh Cheema, also attended the meet.

Mr Shah constituted the manifesto committee for the Lok Sabha elections. The party president also announced that Mr Jaitley will lead the eight-member Publicity Committee and Minister for Road Transport and Highways Nitin Gadkari will head the 10-member Social Self-help outreach committee.

The publicity committee will include Piyush Goyal, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, Anil Jain, Mahesh Sharma, Satish Upadhyay, Rajiv Chandrashekar, and Rituraj Sinha.

The Social Self-help outreach committee has Kailash Vijayvargiya, Sadanand Gowda, Kalraj Mishra, Shiv Prasad Shukla, Vijay Sampla, SS Ahluwalia, Bandaru Dattatreya, RP Singh, and Mange Ram in the team.

A 13-member team, headed by Ravi Shankar Prasad, will look after media, while Shyam Jaju will take care of the social media.

Union Minister Prakash Javadekar will head the committee, which will organise meetings of intellectuals. Ms Lekhi, Sambit Patra and Murlidhar Rao are also included in the committee. (UNI)