PCI announces winners of National Awards for Excellence in Journalism 2018

PCI announces winners of National Awards for Excellence in Journalism 2018

New Delhi, Nov 6: The Press Council of India has announced the winners of National Awards for Excellence in Journalism 2018 .

A jury comprising Mr Amar Devulapalli as Convenor and UNI Editor Ashok Upadhyay, Dr Baldev Raj Gupta, Mr Kamal Nain Narang, Mr Rakesh Sharma, Sayed Raza Hussain Rizvi, Mr Pravat Dash and Prof Ms Shushma Yadav as members of the Press Council of India (PCI) and Dr Ankuran Dutta, Associate Professor and head, Department of Communication and Journalism, Gauhati University, as co-opted Jury member, selected the awardees , who will be honoured on November 16 on the occasion of the National Press Day celebration, at an award function to be held here at National Media Centre.

Mr N Ram, eminent journalist and Chairman the Hindu Publishing Group, has been selected under the prestigious award category of “Raja Ram Mohan Roy award" while Ms Ruby Sarkar, Chief Correspondent, Deshbandhu, Bhopal and Mr Rajesh Parshuram Joshte, Daily Pudhari, Ratnagiri, have been jointly selected for the award in the category of 'Rural Journalism' for their respective articles captioned "Foto ET मिले , तो औरतो ने दिखाया जौहर” and “Jaagar Sailuriddlniclia (A Mode11tent to Prosperity)".

Mr VS Rajesh, Deputy Editor, Kerala Kaumudi has been selected under the award category of 'Developmental Reporting" for his series of articles published in Kerala Kaumudi editorial page during January 23 to 29, 2017.

Mr Subhash Paul, Rashtriya Sahara, Delhi is selected in the category of ‘Photo Journalism-Single News Picture for the published photo in Rashtriya Sahara under the caption "Tolla agat”.

Mr Mihir Singh, Photo Journalist, Punjab Kesari, Delhi has been selected in the category of 'Photo Journalism - Photo feature for the published photographic illustration under the caption " HOGET À FUA - dost À UNAT HIH”.

Mr P Narasimha, Cartoon Editor; Nava Telangana, Hyderabad, has been selected for the award category of 'Best Newspaper Art: covering cartoons, caricature and illustrations' for his published political caricature captioned "Violence in W Bengal panchayat polls!".

No entry could qualify in the newly introduced award category of "Sports Reporting".

The Press Council of India, as the only statutory authority entrusted with the responsibility of encouraging the media to pursue its duties following the dictum of JOULICU Now Dathi 11 "freedom with responsibility", instituted these awards in the year 2012 to encourage journalists/photojournalists/ freelancers excelling in print journalism. (UNI)