JNU students election: United Left sweeps top posts

JNU students election: United Left sweeps top posts


The United Left front retained its hold over the Jawaharlal Nehru University Students’ Union (JNUSU) by winning all four central panel posts, the election committee announced on Sunday.

N Sai Balaji elected as the presidential candidate, bagging 2,161 votes. Sarika Choudhary bagged 2,692 votes to become the vice-president. Aejaj Ahmed polled 2,423 votes to win the post of general secretary. Amutha was elected the joint secretary with 2,047 votes. The United Left front is a coalition platform including the Left-backed All India Students' Association (AISA), Students' Federation of India (SFI), Democratic Students' Federation (DSF) and All India Students' Federation (AISF).

In the keenly contested election on Friday around 67.8 per cent polling recorded which is highest in six years. Over 5,000 students cast their votes.

The process, however, was marred by a slugfest between the Left and the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP). The counting of votes was temporarily suspended on Saturday after some ABVP members allegedly attacked counting centres.

"Around 4:00 am, ABVP broke the glasses of the School of International Studies' building. The Election Committee stopped the counting indefinitely," said Madhurima Kundu, AISA Delhi state president. However, the ABVP had denied the allegations.