Minor reshuffle in Nagaland Cabinet & Advisors

Minor reshuffle in Nagaland Cabinet & Advisors

Agency News

Kohima, Jul 24: The Peoples Democratic Alliance Government in Nagaland has affected a minor reshuffle in the portfolios of the Cabinet Ministers and Advisers to the Chief Minister and included the Deputy Speaker of Nagaland Assembly Zhaleo Rio as Advisor of Sericulture, Excise and Minority Affairs.

According to a notification issued last night by Nagaland Cabinet Secretary Temjen Toy, the Governor of Nagaland, on the advice of the Chief Minister, has reallocated the portfolios and business of the Government among the Ministers and reassigned the Departments to the Advisers to the Chief Minister. Accordingly Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio will hold Finance, Personnel & Administrative Reforms, and any other portfolio not allotted. Deputy Chief Minister, Y Patton would hold Home and Roads & Bridges. The other Cabinet Ministers reallocated portfolios are as, G Kaito Aye with Agriculture & Cooperation, C M Chang with Forest, Environment & Climate Change, Neiba Kronu for Planning & Coordination, Land Revenue, Parliamentary Affairs, S Pangnyu Phom for Health & Family Welfare, P Paiwang Konyak for Transport, Civil Aviation & Railways, Land Resources, Jacob Zhimomi for Public Health Engineering, Metsubo Jamir for Rural Development, Tongpang Ozukum for Housing, Mechanical, V Kashiho Sangtam for Soil & Water Conservation, Geology & Mining and Temjen Imna Along for Higher & Technical Education, Tribal Affairs.

Advisers to the Chief Minister are reallocated portfolios are Noke Wangnao for Social Welfare, Home Guards & Civil Defence, Pohwang Konyak for Fire & Emergency Services, SIRD, Relief & Rehabilitation, Pukhayi for Food & Civil Supplies, Legal Metrology & Consumer Protection, Justice & Law, R Khing for Veterinary & Animal Husbandry, Women Resource Development, Mmhonlumo Kikon for Information Technology & Communication, Science & Technlogy, New & Renewable Energy, Tovihoto Ayemi for Power, Dr. Longrineken for Treasuries & Accounts, National Highways, Zhaleo Rio for Sericulture, Excise, Minority Affairs, Namri Nchang for Water Resources, L Khumo for Fisheries, Evaluation, Economics & statistics, K Tokugha Sukhalu for School Education, Kazheto Kinimi for CAWD, NSDMA, Mhathung Yanthan for Horticulture, Border Affairs, Khehovi Yepthomi for Tourism, Art & Culture, N Bongkhao Konyak for DUDA, H Haiying for Prisons, Printing & Stationery, Imnatiba for Industries & Commerce, Labour & Employment, Skill Development & Entrepreneurship and Zale Neikha for Youth Resources & Sports.

The Cabinet Secretary reiterated that the arrangement is to help utilize the vast and practical experience of the members of Nagaland Legislative Assembly for the benefit of public at large. The Advisers would render their advice on matters that are referred to them by the concerned Department for their views and suggestions before the issue is put up to the concerned Minister in charge for decision. The Advisers would not be eligible for any pay, salary, emoluments, remuneration or any perk or advantages of any kind, from the Government of Nagaland other than what is normally admissible to them as Members of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly through the Assembly Secretariat, the notification said. (UNI)