60 pc voting recorded in Mizoram till 5pm

60 pc voting recorded in Mizoram till 5pm

Agency News

Guwahati, Apr 11: A 59 per cent voter turnout was recorded in Mizoram for the lone Lok Sabha seat till 5 pm which is the stipulated closing time.

However, in many polling centers of the state, people are still queuing to exercise their franchise so the final voting percentage is likely to go up further. Voting which began on 7am in the morning went off peacefully with no untoward incident reported from any part of the state.

Brisk polling was recorded in the early hours of the day with youth, old all coming to vote to elect their representative. Polling for an assembly by-poll of Aizwal West was also held today. The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) has fielded C Lalrosanga, a former Indian Broadcasting Programme Service (IBPS) officer and retired Director General of Doordarshan. Lalnghinglova Hmar, a journalist by profession, is contesting as an Independent candidate backed by key opposition parties Zoram People's Movement (ZPM) and Congress. BJP has fielded Nirupam Chakma, a veteran Chakma leader as well as the state vice-president of the party.

TBC Lalvenchhunga of the newly-floated People's Representation for Identity and Status of Mizoram (PRISM) is also in the fray. Lastly, independent candidates Lalhriatrenga Chhangte and Lalthlamuani are also taking part in the contest.

Of the total 7.84 lakh voters, 4.02 lakh are women and 3.81 lakh men. There are 52,556 first-time voters, and a total of 6 third gender voters in the state. Among the 1,175 polling stations, 117 will be women-only booths, officiated by female security personnel and officials.

Bru voters lodged in relief camps in Tripura would also exercise their franchise for the lone Lok Sabha seat in Mizoram on April 11.
There will be 15 special polling stations established specially at the Mizo-Tripura border village of Kanhmun, where 12,081 Bru voters will cast their votes. Election Commission has instructed the state to make special arrangements for the Bru community sheltered in six relief camps at the neighbouring North Tripura district.

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Mizoram had a voter turnout of 61.95 per cent out of 7.02 lakh registered electors. C L Ruala of Indian National Congress had won with a vote share of 49.3 per cent. However, Congress faced defeat in 2018 assembly elections with Zoramthanga of the Mizo National Front replacing Lal Thanhawla of INC as the chief minister of Mizoram. UNI