38 pc voter turnout in Mizoram till noon

38 pc voter turnout in Mizoram till noon

Agency News

Guwahati, Apr 11: Brisk and peaceful polling is underway in Mizoram for the lone parliamentary seat till 38 per cent turnout was recorded in the hilly state till noon.

Voting began at 7am and will continue till 4pm. Heavy voting was reported from many places with enthusiastic voters coming to the polling stations to exercise their franchise. An electorate of 7,87,777 would seal the fate of six candidates for the Lok Sabha seat.Mizo National Front (MNF) has fielded C Lalrosanga, a former Indian Broadcasting Programme Service (IBPS) officer and retired Director General of Doordarshan.

Sports journalist Lalnghinglova Hmar, also known as Tetea Hmar, is contesting as an Independent candidate backed by key opposition parties Zoram People's Movement (ZPM) and Congress. BJP has fielded Nirupam Chakma, a veteran Chakma leader as well as the state vice-president of the party.

TBC Lalvenchhunga of the newly-floated People's Representation for Identity and Status of Mizoram (PRISM) is also in the fray. Lastly, independent candidates Lalhriatrenga Chhangte and Lalthlamuani are also taking part in the contest.

Lalthlamuani, who runs an NGO for the Jewish community, is the only woman candidate contesting from the Mizoram seat. (UNI)