BJP confident to win by-poll election in Meghalaya

BJP confident to win by-poll election in Meghalaya

Agency News

Shillong, Oct 10 : The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Friday exuded confidence that it will win the by-election to the Shella assembly constituency in Meghalaya.

“We are confident to win the by-election as people have full faith in the BJP. Moreover, there are around 5000 non-tribal voters in the constituency and the party is hopeful that they would vote in favour of the party,” Meghalaya BJP president, Shibun Lyngdoh said.

Altogether, there are six contestants in the fray and will fight to represent the prestigious seat, which had been represented by former Assembly Speaker and United Democratic Party (UDP), Dr. Donkupar Roy for seven consecutive times.

The by-election was necessitated following the demise of Roy on July 21. Recalling that BJP had secured the more than 4700 votes from Shella assembly constituency in the last Lok Sabha election, Lyngdoh voiced confidence that many non-tribals in the constituency repose faith in the BJP.

“We are confident to win because of their ardent support and moreover our party’s candidate, Joshua Warjri, enjoys a good rapport with all the communities,” Lyngdoh said.

Altogether, there are 29, 763 voters, including 14,954 women voters spread across 58 polling stations. The UDP, which is a key partner in the MDA government, has fielded Balajiedkupar Synrem, son of Roy. The National People’s Party and Hill State People’s Democratic Party has extended its support to Synrem.

The People’s Democratic Front (PDF) has fielded Mosjo Rock F. Wanswett. The opposition Congress has again fielded Batyngshaiñ Laitmon Ryngnga. Ryngnga who came third in the 2018 Meghalaya Assembly elections from Shella constituency is hopeful that he will win the by-poll.

Grace Mary Kharpuri, who won the Khasi Hills Autonomous District Council (KHADC) election earlier this year on a Congress ticket from Nongshken constituency, quit from the primary membership of the grand old party to contest by-poll. Kharpuri the lone woman candidate is confident to win the by-poll. Komen Laitmon, a former HSPDP leader is also fighting the by- election as an Independent candidate.

The counting of votes will be held on October 24. (UNI)