Campaigning ends for twin assembly bypoll in Meghalaya

Campaigning ends for twin assembly bypoll in Meghalaya

Agency News

Tura (Meghalaya), Aug 21: Electioneering came to an end today for the the two Assembly seats of Ranikor and South Tura for the ensuing by-elections in Meghalaya with no untoward incident.

Both the constituencies will now witness four-cornered contests in the August 23 by-polls. The main contesting political parties are National People's Party (NPP), Congress, People's Democratic Front (PDF) and United Democratic Party (UDP) alongside two independents. The Ranikor assembly seat fell vacant after five-time Congress MLA Martin M Danggo resigned from the assembly on June 21 and joined the ruling National People's Party.

While the South Tura seat fell vacant after National People's Party legislator Agatha K Sangma, resigned on July 2 to pave way for her brother and the chief minister Conrad Sangma to contest from the constituency.

Meanwhile, the West Garo Hills District and South West Khasi Hills Election Officer, has informed that all State Government Offices falling under South Tura and Ranikor Legislative Assembly Constituency shall remain closed tomorrow to enable the voters of the Constituency to exercise their franchise in the bye-election.

However, all other offices including educational institutions located outside the jurisdiction of the poll-bound Assembly Constituency shall remain open and functions normally. Security has been tight across the poll bound constituency with checking of vehicles and frisking of passengers, raiding of illegal liquor dens and intensified night patrolling. (UNI)