Polling for Inner Manipur PC begins, 15 pc turnout by 9 am

Polling for Inner Manipur PC begins, 15 pc turnout by 9 am

Agency News

Imphal, April 18: The second and final poll for the Inner Manipur Parliamentary constituency (PC) began today at 7am which will conclude at around 4pm.

Barring reports of some EVMs not functioning, the poll process was going on smoothly. Manipur has two seats and the poll for the other seat, Outer Manipur went to polls on April 11. Repolling was also done today in 19 polling stations for the Outer Manipur seat. By 9 am the turnout was 15 per cent.

The fate of the eleven candidates will be sealed in the EVMs today. The seat now occupied by Dr Th Meinya of Congress will be contested by, Oinam Nabakishore Singh of INC, Moirangthem Nara Singh of CPI, Dr. Rajamukar Ranjan Singh of BJP, R.K. Anand of NEIDP, Oinam Jugindro Singh of MPP, Dr. G. Tonsana Sharma of MDPF, Senjam Nandeshwore Singh of RJSP and four Independents, Md. Iliyash Khan, M. Totomsana Nongshaba, Rajkumar Somendro Singh (Kaiku), Wahengbam Pabitra Singh.
The poll was largely peaceful and people started coming out for the poll early in the morning. Women security personnel manned 78 polling stations in Yaiskul and Bishnupur Assembly Constituencies.

The poll covers 32 Assembly segments and 1300 Polling stations and a total of 928626 voters, including 447843 males, 480751 females and 32 third gender category will exercise their franchise. Wheelchairs, ramps and transport arrangements were made for differently-abled persons and the entire polling station, 15/32 Lamlong Higher Secondary School was manned by differently-abled persons. First 50 first early voters have presented gifts. About 45 companies of paramilitary forces were used for election duty and poll process in 599 polling stations was webcast.UNI