40 pc turnout by noon in Manipur elections

40 pc turnout by noon in Manipur elections

Agency News

Imphal, Apr 18 : In the second and final poll for Manipur for the Inner Manipur Parliamentary constituency which began today at 0700 hours about 40 per cent poll percentage by noon.

There were reports of EVMs not functioning in some places. Some complained of voters being not inked by officials. The poll process was going on as usual with 15 per cent polling every two hours.

Manipur has two seats and the poll for the other seat, Outer Manipur went to polls on April 11. Repoll was also done today in 19 polling stations for the Outer Manipur seat.

The repoll process was going on smoothly without any problem so far.

Those who voted includes Governor Dr Najma Heptulla at Sagolband. She appealed to all to exercise their franchise. Chief Minister N Biren Singh also cast his vote at Heingang. All the candidates have also voted in their respective polling stations. (UNI)