Mah: BJP declares four contestants for Legislative Council polls

Mah: BJP declares four contestants for Legislative Council polls

Agency News

Aurangabad (Maharashtra), May 8 : The opposition BJP on Friday announced names of the four candidates for the much-awaited Maharashtra Legislative Council polls.

The BJP finalised the names of Gopichand Padalkar, Ranjitsinh Mohite-Patil, Dr Ajit Gopzade and Pravin Datke, setting aside the speculation that senior leaders like Eknath Khadse, Pankaja Munde-Palve, Vinod Tawade and Chandrashekhar Bavankule will be pitched in the electoral fray. With 120 legislators, including those of allies, the saffron party is likely to hold sway over four out of nine seats.

Apart from CM Uddhav Thackeray, Neelam Gorhe will take on the opponents from Shiv Sena aisle whereas its ruling allies NCP and Congress are yet to declare their poll contestants. The Election Commission (EC) gave a nod to hold the contest following the written request made by the Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari. The apex electoral body earlier postponed the poll scheduled for May 21, owing to the COVID-19 crisis. But, the contest was necessitated as the May 27 deadline for Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray to get elected to the legislature was nearing. Subsequently, the CM phoned the Prime Minister Narendra Modi, apparently asking for his intervention so as to prevent the State from spiralling into a constitutional logjam.

The very next day, Governor Koshyari penned the letter to the EC asking for permission to hold the poll. (UNI)