Shiv Sena MPs to move to 5th row in Oppn in Parliament

Shiv Sena MPs to move to 5th row in Oppn in Parliament

Agency News

Mumbai: After the breakup from its old ally BJP, there will be a revision of seating arrangements of Shiv Sena in the Rajya Sabha. The Shiv Sena, which walked out of the Modi government at the centre this week, will sit in the opposition benches in the Rajya Sabha, party spokesperson Sanjay Raut said.

As per the new scenario, the seating arrangement of Shiv Sena MPs in both houses of Parliament has been changed. They will now sit in the fifth row on the opposition side, sources said.

Union Minister Pralhad Joshi said, "Shiv Sena is not coming to NDA meeting. Their minister Arvind Sawant has resigned. They're trying to work with Congress, so naturally, they've opted to sit in opposition and we've agreed to that. We're allotting them seat in opposition both in Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha."

As the party is holding talks with the Congress and NCP for forming government in Maharashtra, its Rajya Sabha MP Sanjay Raut also said that it wants Sena president Uddhav Thackeray to be the chief minister.

The Shiv Sena also has made it clear that it would not attend a meeting of the NDA constituents on the eve of winter session of Parliament, making clear that its exit from the national-level BJP-led alliance was almost certain.

Earlier, the Sena's lone minister in the Narendra Modi government, Arvind Sawant, had resigned on November 11.

NCP supremo Sharad Pawar has convened a meeting of his party's core committee in Pune on Sunday. He may meet senior Congress leader Ahmed Patel in Delhi next week, and a meeting with Congress president Sonia Gandhi may follow to discuss the CMP and other modalities of forming a coalition with the Sena, sources said. Maharashtra was placed under President's rule on November 12 after no party or alliance staked claim to form government.