Shiv Sena for a common minimum programme with Congress, NCP

Shiv Sena for a common minimum programme with Congress, NCP

Agency News

After NCP-Congress decision to chalk out a common minimum programme(CMP), Shiv Sena also plans to make a CMP of their own to form a government in Maharashtra.

Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray already clarified that the party will work out a common minimum program with the Congress and NCP. He said he would also study unusual alliances in the country for information. But Sena puts forward a precondition that the Chief Minister should be from their party. After discharging from the hospital, Sena leader Sanjay Raut has emphasized this demand saying the Chief Minister should be from their party. Several Shiv Sainiks expressed fears about allying with Congress-NCP, especially after speculations of a CM from the NCP started doing the rounds.

Uddhav maintained that Sena’s claim to form a government still stays and that it is the BJP that caused their alliance to fall apart. Tuesday was a day of setback for Shiv Sainiks. After Shiv Sena MLAs started celebrations at their Madh island resort on Monday in anticipation of their party forming the government, legislators and karyakartas were in a state of confusion on Tuesday which ended in the slapping of President’s Rule in Maharshtra.

NCP leader Sharad Pawar is determined to form a non-BJP government in Maharashtra. As part of this move, the NCP on Wednesday named its five members for a joint committee to be formed with the Congress for deciding a 'common minimum programme' before their possible alliance with the Shiv Sena for government formation in Maharashtra. NCP is represented by Jayant Patil, Ajit Pawar, Chhagan Bhujbal, Dhananjay Munde and Nawab Malik. The Congress committee includes Ashok Chavan, Prithviraj Chavan, Manikrao Thakre, Balasaheb Thorat and Vijay Wadettiwar.