Maharashta: INC, NCP initiate Common Minimum Program with Sena

Maharashta: INC, NCP initiate Common Minimum Program with Sena

Agency News

Mumbai, Nov 13: Indian National Congress and Nationalist Congress Party on Wednesday formed a committee to finalise the Common Minimum Programme (CMP) with Shiv Sena to bring the three parties together for forming the government in the state.

The NCP on Wednesday named its five members for a joint committee to be formed with the Congress for deciding a 'common minimum programme' before their possible alliance with the Shiv Sena for government formation in Maharashtra. NCP is represented by Jayant Patil, Ajit Pawar, Chhagan Bhujbal, Dhananjay Munde and Nawab Malik. The Congress committee includes Ashok Chavan, Prithviraj Chavan, Manikrao Thakre, Balasaheb Thorat and Vijay Wadettiwar.

The Congress leader, Ahmed Patel had raised the issue of the CMP. “Unless the roadmap and the modalities of governing the state are finalised, the Congress will not be in a position to give such an assurance,” Mr Patel is learnt to have conveyed, sources said.

The INC also made it clear that the CMP must include some of the key agenda items in its poll manifesto including farm loan waiver, unemployment allowance and job quota for locals in new industries. (UNI)