Hingoli: Contest between two Sainiks

Hingoli: Contest between two Sainiks

Agency News

Hingoli, Apr 12: The Hingoli Lok Sabha constituency, carved out of three districts namely Hingoli, Nanded (both in Marathwada) and Yeotmal (Vidarbha) will witness a straight fight between two Shiv Sainks -- one is former sena MP Subhash Wankhede, now Congress nominee and another is sitting sena MLA of Nanded Hemant Patil, Sena's official candidate -- in the Lok Sabha election to be held on April 18 in second phase.
In the Hingoli parliamentary constituency. a total of 28 candidates are in the fray but the major fight is among Subhash Wankhede (Congress) Hemant Patil (Shiv Sena), Mohan Rathod (Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi) and Datta Dhanve (Bahujan Samaj Party). Mohan Rathod is expected to attract votes of the Banjara community. All the candidates have started their campaigns by roping in their senior party leaders.
The division of votes between the Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi and Bahujan Samaj Party is predicted to benefit either the Congress or Shiv Sena.
The candidates are not taking up the issues related to the drought under which people have been reeling for last few years.Rather, they are seen engaged in mud-slinging.
In the 2014 Lok Sabha election, the Congress nominee Rajiv Satav had won the seat by a thin margin of 1600 votes by defeating the Shiv Sena candidate Subhash Wankhede who is now the Congress candidate. In the 2009 LS election, Mr Wankhede had defeated NCP heavyweight Ms Suryakanta Patil by 73,000 votes.

The constituency is mainly dominated by Banjaras, Adivasis, people belonging to NT category, OBCs and Marathas, who will decide the political fortunes of the contestants.
Both Mr Wankhede and Mr Patil belong to the Maratha community.
The Constituency has 17,16,774 voters including 8,97,944 men, 8,18,791 women and 12 others. The constituency will have 1989 polling booths. In all, 4,004 employees will be deployed at the polling booths. For the first time VVPAT machine will also be used.
To observe strict implementation of the Model Code of Conduct, various departments have been constituted including Monitoring Committee and Media Certification (MCMC) to watch on advertisement and paid news.
The district administration is geared up for voting to be conducted for the Hingoli Parliamentary Constituency scheduled on April 18.
The MPCC presindet Ashok Chavan, Congress leaders Ghulam Nabi Azad, Hussain Dalavi among others are campaigning for Mr Wankhede.
On the other hand, the state cabinet minister Pankaja Munde, Yuva Sena chief Aditya Thackeray, and BJP senior leader Suryakanta Patil have already addressed rallies in support of Mr Patil. Also, Sena presindet Uddhav Thackeray is likely to address a rally in support of Mr Patil before the end of campaigning.