MP stage 2: Campaigning ends in 7 constituencies
Madhya Pradesh

MP stage 2: Campaigning ends in 7 constituencies

Agency News

Bhopal, May 4: With the expiration of the general election campaign deadline, the hurly-burly died down at 6pm in Madhya Pradesh’s Damoh, Tikamgarh, Khajuraho, Satna, Hoshangabad, Rewa and Betul parliamentary constituencies where various political parties utilised all the energy at their command on Saturday.

Door-to-door canvassing is permitted henceforward and exercise of franchise is scheduled from 7am to 6pm on Monday. This phase is witnessing Minister of State for Minority Affairs Virendra Kumar (Bharatiya Janata Party) trying his fortune in Tikamgarh, parliamentarian and erstwhile central minister Prahlad Singh Patel in Damoh, the saffron camp’s state General Secretary VD Sharma in Khajuraho and MP Ganesh Singh (BJP) in Satna. Rewa’s ‘defending’ MP Janardan Mishra (BJP) is on collision course with the Congress’ Mr Siddharth Tiwari who is the paternal grandson of former Assembly speaker Sriniwas Tiwari and the son of senior leader Sunder Lal Tiwari (both deceased).

For the Congress, Chief Minister Kamal Nath is primarily handling the offensive. Party President Rahul Gandhi and Punjab Local Government, Tourism and Cultural Affairs Minister Navjot Singh Sidhu were also seen drumming up support. On the saffron side, ex-chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan is heading the onslaught. Of course, Premier Narendra Modi and BJP supremo Amit Shah addressed rallies in these areas. (UNI)