MP polls: Cong drops sitting legislator from 3rd list
Madhya Pradesh

MP polls: Cong drops sitting legislator from 3rd list

Bhopal, Nov 6: The Congress has dropped the name of a sitting legislator in its third list of 13 candidates – including a woman – issued last night for coming Madhya Pradesh assembly elections.

With the issuance of the latest list, the party has thus far announced candidates for 184 seats – out of total 230. However, the Congress has – just as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) – not declared its candidate for Govindpura seat.

In the third list, the party denied ticket to sitting Pandhurna legislator Jatan Uike and provided opportunity to Nilesh Uike. The Congress reposed faith in Mr Mahendra Singh Sisodia once again in Bamori, and pitted Mr Manoj Chaudhary against state minister Deepak Joshi from Hatpipalia.

The party has named Mr Deepak Saxena as its candidate from state Congress president Kamal Nath's bastion Chhindwara. He would have to slug it out with sitting BJP legislator Chaudhary Chandrabhan Singh.

The Congress has once again placed its faith in Mr Arif Masood from the Bhopal Madhya seat. He was defeated by BJP candidate Surendra Nath Singh in the previous election from the same seat.

Ms Babita Saket is the lone woman to find place in the third list. She has been nominated from Manganva. The last date for filing nomination is November 9. Scrutiny would take place on November 12 while the last date of withdrawal is November 14. Polling would take place on November 28. Counting would be held on December 11.
( UNI)