Mani C Kappan wins by 2943 votes

Mani C Kappan wins by 2943 votes

Agency News

Pala: Marking a history, Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) candidate Mani C Kappan has won by 2943 votes in the Pala by-election.

While Mani C Kappan polled 54137 votes, the close opponent from CPI-M-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) candidate Jose Tom got 51194 votes and the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate N Hari bagged 18044 votes to reach at the third spot.

Mani C Kappan was maintaining his lead from the start when the counting Postal votes began at 8 am on Friday. Then the counting of Ramapuram Panchayat, which is generally a UDF-dominated area, finished, the lead of Mani C Kappan moved up by 2000 votes. Now around half of the polling booths , around 85 booths, were counted and Mani C Kappan’s lead moved up by 4,306. But during the end phase of counting, Jose Tom polled more votes which eventually curtailed the majority of Mani C Kappan which ended in 2943 votes.