Bypoll: LDF announces candidates to 5 assembly seats in Kerala

Bypoll: LDF announces candidates to 5 assembly seats in Kerala

Agency News

Thiruvananthapuram, Sep 26 : The ruling CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) on Thursday announced its candidates for the October 21 bypoll to the five assembly constituencies in Kerala.

Thiruvananthapuram Corporation Mayor V K Prasanth will contest from Vattiyoorkavu seat and DYFI state Vice President Manu C Pulikkal will be the candidate for Aroor constituency in Alappuzha district, CPI(M) State Secretary Kodiyeri Balakrishnan announced the names while addressing a press conference here.

While LDF-backed independent candidate Manu Roy, son of ex-UNI staffer and Senior Journalist KM Roy will be in fray from Ernakulam seat, M Sankar Rai will be the candidate from Manjeswaram in Kasaragod and K U Janeesh Kumar will contest from Konni in Pathanamthitta district.

While the bypoll to Manjeswaram was necessitated due to the death of sitting MLA P B Abdul Razak of IUML, in the other four constituencies the vacancy arose after the sitting legislators had resigned to contest in the Lok Sabha election held in April this year.

The opposition Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) and the BJP-led NDA are yet to finalise their candidates. The result for the Pala Assembly Seat, where a byelection was held on September 23 will be announced on Friday and it will be a major boost for the winning front in the October 21 bypoll. (UNI)