Bypoll on Oct 21 in 5 Kerala constituencies

Bypoll on Oct 21 in 5 Kerala constituencies


The byelections to five constituencies in Kerala – Manjeshwaram, Ernakulam, Konni, Aroor and Vattiyoorkavu – will also be held on October 21 along with the Assembly elections in Maharashtra and Haryana.

The results will be declared on October 24, according to the announcement by Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora in Delhi on Saturday. The last date for filing nomination is October 4, and scrutiny will be held the next day. The last day for withdrawing nominations is October 7.

Four constituencies Ernakulam, Konni, Vattiyoorkavu, all held by the UDF, and Aroor (LDF) fell vacant after the MLAs, Hibi Eden, Adoor Prakash, K Muraleedharan and AM Arif, contested the recent Lok Sabha elections and won.

In Manjeswaram, the bypoll is the result of the death of PB Abdul Razack of the IUML in October 2018. However, there was a petition filed by BJP candidate K Surendran who had lost in the 2016 election. Following the death of Razack, Surendran withdrew his petition, leading to the byelection.

Election to another vacant seat of Pala, following the death of Kerala Congress leader KM Mani in April, is being held on September 23. The newly elected members will have a maximum of 19 months to serve as the term of the present Assembly ends by mid-2021.