V Muralidharan to represent Kerala in Modi’s ministerial team

V Muralidharan to represent Kerala in Modi’s ministerial team

Agency News

Kerala will find representation in the Narendra Modi Cabinet through former BJP state president V Muralidharan. He is expected to take oath of office today and be a Minister of State with independent charge.

Muralidharan confirmed that he had been invited to the tea party called today organised by Modi for ministers to be part of this evening's swearing-in.

Muralidharan, a Rajya Sabha member elected from Maharashtra, hails from Thalassery, and came into politics through BJP's student arm ABVP.

There was speculation that former Mizoram Governor Kummanam Rajasekharan who quit to unsuccessfully contest from Thiruvananthapuram on the party ticket would find a place in the Council of Ministers. Another name that was doing the rounds was that of Alphons Kannanthanam, who was a minister in Modi's last Governnment and like Kummanam had contested the recent Lok Sabha election from Ernakulam unsuccessfully.

Muralidharan told mediapersons in Delhi today that the invite to join the Council of Ministers was a pleasant surprise.