K. Surendran likely to contest from Pathanamthitta

K. Surendran likely to contest from Pathanamthitta

Agency News

Though there were many claimants for Pathanamthitta seat which consists of Sabarimala temple, K. Surendran likely to be chosen as the candidate of BJP here.

The final list of candidates will be announced by BJP national chief Amit Shah in Delhi on Thursday. BJP provides high winning probability for Pathanamthitta seat which was the focal point of Sabarimala protests. Party hopes to field the best candidate in Pathanamthitta and hence a faction of the party hopes to field Surendran. Surendran was banned to enter Pathanamthitta following the Sabarimala protest. However, Surendran shared through his Facebook page that his ban was lifted on Monday.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday night has already finalised its seat-sharing deal with the Bharath Dharma Jana Sena (BDJS) and Kerala Congress in Kerala for the Lok Sabha election. The BJP would field candidates in 14 seats in Kerala, while the BDJS will contest five seats and the P.C. Thomas-led Kerala Congress will fight in one, said party general secretary Muralidhar Rao.

Announcing the seat-sharing pact, Mr. Rao said the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance was getting support from all sections in the State. The three parties had also finalised the seats they wanted to contest, he said.

The candidature of former Mizoram Governor Kummanam Rajasekharan is already finalized from Thiruvananthapuram where he will take on Congress party’s Shashi Tharoor. BDJS chief Thushar Vellappally will be fighting from Thrissur. In the 2016 election, the BJP had made inroads in parts of Kerala, which had alternatively been ruled by the Communist Party of India (Marxist)-led Left Democratic Front and the Congress-led United Democratic Front.

Alphons in the fray

Among those likely to figure in the list of BJP candidates include Union Tourism Minister K.J. Alphons and new entrant and former Congress spokesperson Tom Vadakkan, besides senior State leaders.

Soon after returning here from Delhi, BJP State president P.S.Sreedharan Pillai said on Wednesday that the list would be released on Thursday, but kept silent when asked if he was going to be a candidate in the upcoming polls. “The list of Kerala candidates would be released in Delhi tomorrow (Thursday) by the national executive,” Mr. Pillai said.