Thushar to contest from Thrissur; official announcement today

Thushar to contest from Thrissur; official announcement today


Finally, BDJS state president Thushar Vellappally has given consent to contest as BJP candidate from Thrissur Lok Sabha constituency.
As his father and SNDP president Vellappally Natesan gave the green signal to Thushar’s decision, the candidature was almost sealed, though the official announcement was likely come on Tuesday from Delhi.

But Thushar’s entry will pave way to other worries to BJP as it will have to pacify Tom Vadakkan, a renowned Congress leader who jumped into BJP bandwagon from the Congress boat last week. It is public now that Tom Vadakkan was eyeing Thirssur seat for a long time. One of the reasons for his quitting Congress was over the Thrissur parliamentary seat.
Though reluctant at the beginning, Thushar later gave into the pressure from BJP central leadership such as Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP chief Amit Shah. Thushar’s entry into the fray will lead to a strong triangular fight in Thrissur where other candidates are Rajai Mathew Thomas of the LDF and TN Prathapan of the UDF.

BDJS claims to have a strong vote base in the constituency. After the Sabarimala issue, Thirssur district has reportedly passed through strong communal polarisation. If Thushar can turn this angst among Hindus into votes, he could bring forth a strong run for both UDF and LDF candidates.
According to the latest reports, BDJS will be contesting in five constituencies including Thrissur. Other candidates are: Thazhava Sahadevan (Mavelikkara), Biju Krishnan (Idukki), TV Babu (Alathur) and Anto Augustine (Wayanad).