It’s Muraleedharan in Vadakara, Cong stalemate over Kerala candidates ends

It’s Muraleedharan in Vadakara, Cong stalemate over Kerala candidates ends


Ending the stalemate over candidate selection for four seats in faction-riddled, the mantle for contesting from Vadakara finally fell on K Muraleedharan.

The decision was taken by Tuesday afternoon and was confirmed by KPCC president Mulappally Ramachandran and candidate Muraleedharan. The other candidates for the seats where group infighting was at its peak are Adoor Prakash from Attingal, Shanimol Usman from Alappuzha and T Siddique from Wayanad. The official announcement is likely today.

The decision for Vadakara seat had seen requests flow to the High Command for Mulappally, the sitting MP who refused to get into the fray.

The CPM's decision to field Kannur district secretary P Jayarajan had created confusion in Congress circles, leading to demand for a 'strong’ candidate. The name of Muraleedharan, the party publicity president, was decided by leaders Ramesh Chennithala, Oommen Chandy and Mulappally. Interestingly, Muraleedharan had been eyeing the neighbouring Kozhikode seat.

The candidates for Attingal, Waynad and Alappuzha were decided after long hectic parleys between Congress ‘I’ and ‘A’ groups. Chennithala of the I group had to finally succumb to Chandy’s pressure and agree to Siddique for Wayanad. Mahila Congress former state president Shanimol Usman, a strong contender for 'safe' Waynad, was moved to Alappuzha. Adoor Prakash, MLA from Konni, was a foregone conclusion for Attingal, though group tussle delayed things.