M V Jayarajan selected as CPI(M) Kannur district secretary

M V Jayarajan selected as CPI(M) Kannur district secretary

Agency News

Kannur, Mar 11 : CPI (M) state committee member M V Jayarajan was selected as party's Kannur district secretary on Monday.

M V Jayarajan is currently serving as the private secretary of Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan. The CPI(M) district committee meeting held on Monday elected unanimously M V Jayarajan as the district secretary as P Jayarajan, who presently holds the position, is contesting from Vadakara constituency in the Lok Sabha election.

Earlier, M V Jayarajan served as district secretary for two terms in 2012 and 2015. Talking to news persons after the meeting M V Jayarajan said, "he has submitted his resignation letter from the post of private secretary to Chief Minister".

The meeting also decided to induct former district secretary P Sasi to the district committee. Sasi is presently serving as the branch committee member of CPI (M) Thalassery Court unit. He was ousted from the post of district secretary in 2011 on allegations of misconduct. UNI