CPIM finally goes for Anwar in Ponnani, announces full list of 16 candidates

CPIM finally goes for Anwar in Ponnani, announces full list of 16 candidates


The CPM has officially announced its candidates for the coming Lok Sabha elections with controversial legislator from Nilambur PV Anwar to contest from Muslim League stronghold Ponnani.

Party state secretary Kodiyeri Balakrishnan announced the list at a press conference held at the AKG centre in Thiruvananthapuram on Saturday. The party would be fielding candidates in 16 seats, leaving the remaining four to CPI, the second largest partner in ruling Left Democratic Front (LDF), which announced its candidates a few days ago.

In the case of Ponnani, there was opposition to Anwar's candidature as it was believed that issues pertaining to his business, including the flouting of norms for his water theme park which has invited even the High Court's wrath, would turn against him. But party sources said that with a section of the Congress against League fielding ET Mohammed Basheer from there, Congress rebel Anwar could be an ideal candidate to exploit the situation in LDF's favour.

Four MLAs, AM Ariff (Alappuzha), Veena George (Aranmula), Pradeep Kumar (Kozhikode North) and PV Anwar (Nilambur) are to contest from Alappuzha, Pathanamthitta, Kozhikode and Ponnani parliament constituencies, respectively. Besides Veena, the only other woman candidate in the LDF is sitting member PK Sreemathy of CPIM from Kannur.

The LDF list is:

Kasaragod: KP Satheesh Chandran
Kannur: PK Sreemathy
Vadakara: P Jayarajan
Kozhikode: A Pradeep Kumar

Wayanad: PP Suneer (CPI)
Malappuram: VP Sanu
Ponnani: PV Anwar
Palakkad: MB Rajesh
Alathur: PK Biju

Thrissur: Rajaji Mathew Thomas (CPI)
Chalakudy: Innocent
Ernakulam: P Rajeev
Idukki: Joyce George

Alappuzha: MA Arif
Kottayam: VN Vasavan
Pathanamthitta: Veena George
Mavelikkara: C Gopakumar (CPI)
Kollam: K. N. Balagopal
Attingal: A. Sampath

Thiruvanthapuram: C Divakaran (CPI)