CPI finalises candidates ahead of all, Divakaran to contest against Tharoor

CPI finalises candidates ahead of all, Divakaran to contest against Tharoor


While parties across all fronts are still holding discussions over selection of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, the Kerala unit of the CPI has led in finalising its candidates for the four seats allocated to it.

A constituent of the ruling Left Democratic Front (LDF), CPI at its State council meeting in Thiruvananthapuram on Monday is said to have decided to put up former Minister C Divakaran from the capital city. Other candidates are Rajaji Mathew Thomas (Thrissur), P Suneer (Wayanad) and Chitayam Gopakumar (Mavelikkara).

While the name of party state secretary Kanam Rajendran was mooted for Thiruvanthapuram where Congress leader Sashi Tharoor is eyeing a hat-trick, the mantle fell on Divakaran after Kanam made it clear that he was not for electoral politics. In the 2014 elections, the CPI state leadership had faced flak for putting up a weak candidate and it was alleged that it was a “paid seat”.

In Thrissur, the sitting MP, CN Jayadevan, is not being given another term and instead the party will be fielding Janayugam editor Rajaji Mathew Thomas. The name of former Minister KP Rajendran was initially in the list and even that of Agriculture Minister VS Sunilkumar was mooted.

Adoor MLA Gopakumar has been selected for Mavelikkara and PP Suneer for the Wayanad seat where attempts were there to foist former minister KE Ismail who has not been in the good books of the leadership.

The national council will take a final call on the list and official announcement is likely only after the LDF meeting sometime next week.