CPM to Reconstitute Control Commission

CPM to Reconstitute Control Commission


Thiruvananthapuram : The CPI(M) state leadership has decided to reconstitute its Control Commission. It is learnt from reliable sources that Party state committee member and former minister M.Vijayakumar may become the Chairman of the commission. Control Commissions at various levels of party hierarchy are an inner party mechanism of CPM to resolve the organisational disputes and also works as an appellate body to hear the grievances of party members .

The CPM state conference held at Thrissur in last February has formed a Five member control commission with senior leader T.Krishnan as its Chairman. As an aftermath of the controversy regarding the peravoor co-operative hospital’s land deal, T.Krishnan has relinquished the post. Apart from the Chairman’s resignation, another member M.M.Varghese has been chosen by the party Thrissur district committee as its new secretary. After assuming the new post he was relieved from the control commission. Another vacancy occurred in the commission due to the demise of prominent Trade Union leader E.Kasim .In order to fill these vacancies ,the CPM state committee has decided to appoint M.Vijayakumar, K.V.Abdul Khadar MLA, and Panoli Valsan as the members of commission. The chairman will be elected at the next meeting of the commission.

Being the senior and prominent leader among other commission members, M.Vijayakumar stands a good chance in getting the new post- a leader privy to the discussions in the party said. M.Vijayakumar has been in CPM state committee for more than two decades. He also served as the Speaker of Kerala Legislative Assembly during 1996-2001 and All India President of DYFI.